What is Chakra Yoga?


The focus of chakra yoga is to activate all of your energy centers, through use of various other yogic traditions. Chakra means “circle” or “wheel,” denoting continuous and pure energy. The chakras are energy centers located along the spine.

The chakras are thought to be your body’s life force energy centers, and there are seven of them from the base of your spine to the top of your head. Every chakra has its unique energy.

Tightness in parts of your body can leave your chakras out of balance. Chakra yoga, keeps the energy centers of your body balanced and opened for good health and function. By use of controlled breath and yoga postures, you can bring the balance back, cleanse and open your chakras.

The seven chakras and their best poses

First chakra
Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is the energy of existence. The lower limbs are extensions of it too. It is associated with the color red, and our health, habits and physical body correspond to it. It is also associated with your material needs, identity, and survival. When balanced you will get a boost to your health, increase your trust in the flow of prosperity and enhance your sense of security.

Balancing poses best for the base chakra includes;

  • tree pose
  • crow pose
  • child’s pose
  • head to knee pose
  • forward bends
  • Reclining bound angle

Second chakra
The second chakra known as the sacral or pelvic chakra involves your feelings and trusting your sensations. When its flow is blocked, you have a hard time believing the source of your senses. Your impressions gain a tinge of the sour. When it’s open, you naturally are drawn to pleasant sensations, warmth, and touch. Its frequency is represented in your body through the lower spine, hips and sexual reproductive organs. It is associated with the color orange.
The best balancing poses for the sacral chakra includes;

  • cow face pose
  • bound and open angle pose
  • Pigeon Pose.

Third chakra
The third chakra is also known as the navel chakra. It is the chakra for perseverance, stability, and power. It is associated with the color yellow and fosters personal energy and change. When balanced, it imbues you with an ‘alive’ feeling enhancing your self-esteem and confidence. When blocked you will experience a lack of courage, inertness, and stagnation.

Its best chakra yoga poses include;

  • Boat Pose
  • Leg Lifts
  • Sun salutation pose
  • Mountain Pose.

Fourth chakra
This is the chakra of the heart, love and compassion. It is associated with the color green and is the most powerful in the human body. Balance it promote harmony and peace in both your spiritual and physical world.

Its best poses include;

  • Backbend
  • Eagle Pose.

Fifth chakra
This is the throat chakra and holds your authentic voice frequency. When it is blocked, you lose your truth. It is represented by your neck, vocal chords, and the crossroads between your head, torso, and arms. It is associated with the color blue. Its best yoga poses include;

  • Camel Pose
  • Bridge Pose
  • Plow Pose
  • Shoulder stands

Sixth chakra
Also known as the third eye chakra, it is the seat of your sixth sense or intuition. It corresponds to the point between your eyebrows. When properly balanced, it gives you insight, but when closed you get too attached to logic and become cynical and untrusting.

Best poses for the third eye chakra includes;

  • Child’s pose
  • Shoulder stands
  • Cat/cow pose

Seventh chakra
The seventh chakra is also known as the crown chakra. This chakra is your connection to your higher spiritual self and realms. It helps you understand that you are a spirit having a human physical experience. It is not on the body but hovers above your head’s crown. When it is out of balance, you tend to look for happiness outside of yourself, causing you much. Best way to balance this chakra is through meditation, but you can enhance energy center balance through;

  • Half lotus pose
  • Corpse Pose
  • Headstands


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here